The portal is a communication hub for all relevant information about the upcoming changes to digital terrestrial television (DVB-T). The information on offer will be updated continuously in the coming months.

DVB-T2 HD is the successor to DVB-T antenna-based television. It represents a combination of the DVB-T2 broadcasting standard and the HEVC video codec, offering improved quality (primarily in HD) and expanded programming (around 40 channels in metropolitan areas).

The switchover will begin on 29.03.2017 in metropolitan areas and end by mid-2019 across the rest of Germany. At the same time, a majority of the DVB-T offerings will be discontinued. As a first step, major broadcasters will begin broadcasting in DVB-T2 HD in selected metropolitan areas starting on may 31st 2016. The channels Das Erste, RTL, ProSieben, SAT.1, VOX and ZDF will be available in HD.

Only those receivers (TVs, set-top boxes, etc) marked with the green DVB-T2 HD logo will be able to receive the signals. Non-compatible televisions may still be used, but must be supplemented with an external receiver.

The switchover is in part caused by the Federal Government's directive to reduce the frequency spectrum used by terrestrial broadcasting.

DVB-T2 HD is a joint initiative of ARD, the federal state media authorities, Mediengruppe RTL Deutschland, ProSiebenSat.1 Media SE, VPRT and ZDF.

ARD Die Medienanstalten Mediengruppe RTL ProSiebenSat1 Media SE ZDF